North Twenty Four Parganas Population 2021

India >> West Bengal >> Districts in West Bengal >> North 24 Parganas

Population of North Twenty Four Parganas 2021

North 24 Parganas or North Twenty Four Parganas is a district in southern West Bengal, of eastern India. North 24 Parganas is West Bengal’s most populous district and also the most populated district in the whole of India. It is the tenth-largest district in the State by area. As per provisional reports of Census India, the population of  North 24 Parganas in 2011 is 10,009,781 (1 Crore)

North Twenty Four Parganas Population 2021

North 24 Parganas has a population growth rate during 2001-2011 of 12.04%. Its estimated population in 2021 is 1.07 Crores* an increase of around 7 lakhs from 2011.

Population of North 24 Parganas in 2021 – 1.07 Crores (Approx)

North 24 ParganasCensus 2011
Total Population10,009,781 (1 Crores)
Male Population5,119,389
Female Population4,890,392
Total Area4,094 km2 
Population Density2,445/km2
Average Literacy (%)84.06%
Sex Ratio (per 1000)955
Child Population (0-6 Yrs)9,57,973
Child Sex ration (0-6Yrs)956
District HeadquartersBarasat

Source: Census 2011 & Census Population Projections 2011-2021

Sub Divisons of North 24 Parganas district

The District is divided into 5 Subdivisions for administrative convenience. A Subdivision is headed by Sub Divisional Officer SDO/SDM) in the rank of Assistant Collector in Cadre of I.A.S or a Deputy Collector. Each division consists of a few Taluks. The 5 Divisions in North 24 Parganas district are

  1. Bongaon
  2. Barasat
  3. Barrackpur
  4. Bidhannagar
  5. Basirhat

Tehsil in North 24 Parganas

Administratively, the district is divided into 22 Tehsils/CD Blocks

#Tehsil (CD Block)Population (2011)
4Barasat I2,94,628
5Barasat II2,00,918
6Barrackpur I1,82,845
7Barrackpur II2,17,171
8Basirhat I1,71,613
9Basirhat II2,26,130
13Habra I2,25,200
14Habra II1,76,490
20Sandeshkhali I1,64,465
21Sandeshkhali II1,60,976

Cities in North 24 Parganas District

Some of the Big Cities in North 24 Parganas District are

  • South DumDum
  • Rajarhat Gopalpur
  • Bhatpara
  • Panihati
  • Kamarhati
  • Barasat
  • North DumDum
  • Baranagar
  • Naihati
  • Bidhannagar

Map of North Twenty Four Parganas