Murshidabad District Population 2021

Population of Murshidabad district

Murshidabad district is a district in the Indian state of West Bengal. Its West Bengal’s third most populous district and the eighth-most populous district in India. As per provisional reports of Census India, the population of  Murshidabad district in 2011 is 7,103,807 (71 Lakhs)

Murshidabad District Population 2021

Murshidabad district has a population growth rate during 2001-2011 of 12.04%. Its estimated population in 2021 is 76 Lakhs* an increase of around 5 lakhs from 2011.

Population of Murshidabad district in 2021 – 76 Lakhs (Approx)

Murshidabad districtCensus 2011
Total Population7,103,807 (71 Lakhs)
Male Population3,627,564
Female Population3,476,243
Total Area5,324 km2 
Population Density1,334/km2
Average Literacy (%)66.59%
Sex Ratio (per 1000)958
Child Population (0-6 Yrs)1,013,392
Child Sex ration (0-6Yrs)968
District HeadquartersBaharampur

Source: Census 2011 & Census Population Projections 2011-2021

Sub Divisons of Murshidabad district

The District is divided into 5 Subdivisions for administrative convenience. A Subdivision is headed by Sub Divisional Officer SDO/SDM) in the rank of Assistant Collector in Cadre of I.A.S or a Deputy Collector. Each division consists of a few Taluks. The Five Revenue Divisions in Murshidabad District are

  1. Jangipur
  2. Sadar
  3. Kandi
  4. Lalbagh
  5. Domkal

Tehsil in Murshidabad District

Administratively, the district is divided into 26 Tehsil (CD Block), which are grouped into Five sub-divisions:

#Tehsil (CD Block)Area (km²)Population (2011)
1Beldanga I1733,19,322
2Beldanga II1902,50,458
4Bhagawangola I1492,02,071
5Bhagawangola II1681,58,024
6Bharatpur I1771,72,702
7Bharatpur II1551,76,368
16Murshidabad Jiaganj1722,34,565
19Raghunathganj I1391,95,627
20Raghunathganj II1142,65,336
21Raninagar I1701,89,105
22Raninagar II1991,90,885
25Suti I1401,79,908
26Suti II1352,78,922

Cities in Murshidabad District

There are 7 municipalities in the district viz. Dhulian, Jangipur, Jiaganj-Azimganj, Murshidabad, Kandi, Beldanga and Berhampore. 

Map of Murshidabad district