> > India >>  States >> DN & DD

Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu Population

Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu is a union territories in western India.  The territory is made up of four separate geographical entities Dadra, Nagar Haveli, Daman, and the island of Diu. All four were part of Portuguese India before they came under the Indian administration. 

As per provisional reports of Census India, the population of  Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu in 2011 is 586,956 (5.86 Lakh), and the estimated population in 2023 is 12.63 lakh

Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu had a population growth rate during 2011-2021 of 11%. Its estimated population in 2021 is 10.77 lakh an increase of around 4.91 lakh from 2011.

Andhra PradeshCensus 2011
Total Population586,956 (5.86 Lakhs)
Male Population344,601
Female Population242,885
Total Area603 km2 
Area Rank33rd
Population Density971/km2
Population Rank133rd
Average Literacy (%)81.65%
Sex Ratio704
Capital CityDaman
Formation26 January 2020

Source: Census 2011 & UIAI for 2021 Estimates

Population by Religion

Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu are two different UTs in 2011 & later merged into one. At the census 2011, out of 5.87 lakhs population, around 5.43 lakhs (92.51%) have returned themselves as followers of Hindu religion, 3.21 Lakhs (5.49%) as Muslims or the followers of Islam, 7933 (1.35%) as Christian. In addition 0.12% Stated as no religion & 0.52% are other religions.

Source: Census 2011

Religion in Numbers

#ReligionPopulation 2011
7Other religions and persuasions372
8Religion not stated732

Source: Census 2011

Religion by Percentage

#ReligionPercentage %
7Other religions and persuasions0.06%
8Religion not stated0.12%

Source: Census 2011

Top Cities in Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu

  • Daman
  • Silvassa
  • Diu
  • Dadra

Lok Sabha Seats in Daman and Diu 

The Lok Sabha, the lower house of the Parliament of India, is made up of Members of Parliament (MPs). Each MP represents a single geographic constituency. There is currently 1 Lok Sabha constituency in Daman & Diu.

Daman and Diu  MP List

Lok Sabha Seat from Daman and Diu  & MP from Daman and Diu  in the 17th Lok Sabha (2019-2024)

#Constituency Party NameName Of Member
1Daman and Diu Bharatiya Janata PartyShri Lalubhai Babubhai Patel
Population of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu