Population of Andaman and Nicobar Islands 2021

Population of Andaman and Nicobar Islands 2021

The Andaman and Nicobar Islands, a union territory of India, are a group of 572 islands at the juncture of the Bay of Bengal and the Andaman Sea. It comprises two island groups, the Andaman Islands and the Nicobar Islands. As per provisional reports of Census India, the population of  Andaman and Nicobar Islands in 2011 is 380,581 (3.80 Lacs)

Andaman and Nicobar Islands Population 2011-2021

Andaman and Nicobar Islands has a population growth rate during 2011-2021 of 9.58 %. Its estimated population in 2021 is 4.2 Lakhs* an increase of around 40K  from 2011.

Population of Andaman and Nicobar Islands in 2021 – 4.2 Lakhs
Andaman & Nicobar IslandsCensus 2011
Total Population380,581 (3.80 Lacs)
Male Population202,871
Female Population177,710
Total Area8,249 km2 
Area Rank28th
Population Density46/km2
Population Rank34th
Average Literacy (%)86.80%
Sex Ratio876
Capital CityPort Blair
Formation1 November 1956

Source: Census 2011 & UIAI for 2021 Estimates

Top Cities in Andaman & Nicobar Islands

The territory’s capital is the city of Port Blair. The Nicobar District with Car Nicobar as its capital, the South Andaman district with Port Blair as its capital and the North and Middle Andaman district with Mayabunder as its capital.