Villages in Bangalore City | Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike Villages

Villages in Bangalore City | Bangalore District Villages

The History of Bangalore Villages

Bangalore, officially Bengaluru is the capital of the Indian state of Karnataka. The Bengaluru word is derived from the words “Benda Kalu”. The twelfth-century Hoysala king Veera Ballala II, once lost in the jungle, saw a lonely hut. Just as an old man who lived in it gave him a bowl of food. Hence the name of the place was called Benda Kaloor. The same Bendakalur over time became known as Bangalore in Kannada and Bangalore in English. However, in a temple inscription in the village of Begur, AD. History states that the name “Bangalore” was recorded as early as Ballala’s time. Even today, Bangalore is within the city limits of Kodigehalli, which is now known as Old Bangalore or HalebengaLooru.
The Bengaluru we see today was designed by Kempe Gowda in 1537. In 1537, Kempegowda, who was in charge of the Yelahanka, built a mud fort and built the small towns around the Bekpet, Aralipete (Cottonpet), and Chikkapete within the fort with the help of King Achyutarayana. Banglore than passed to Shahajirao Bhonsle, Wodeyars, Hyder Ali, Tipu Sultan, Krishnaraja Wodeyar III & last under British administration. In 1881, the British returned the city to the Wodeyars. From then on, the city has grown in magnitudes, emerging into what you see and know of today.
The history of municipal governance of Bangalore dates back to March 27, 1862, when nine leading citizens of the city formed a Municipal Board. Later, a similar Municipal Board was also formed in the Cantonment area of the city. After Indian independence, the two Municipal Boards were merged to form the Corporation of the City of Bangalore. The corporation then consisted of 70 elected representatives and 50 electoral divisions. The name of the council then changed — first to Bangalore City Corporation (BCC) and then to Bangalore MahanagaraPalike (BMP).
In January 2007, the Government of Karnataka announced the merger of seven Urban Municipal Councils  ( Rajarajeshwari, Dasarahalli, Bommanahalli, Krishnarajapuram, Mahadevapura, Byatarayanapura, and Yelahanka), one Town Municipal Council (Kengeri) and 111 villages around the city under the existing Bangalore Municipal Council to create a single Bangalore Municipal Council (Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike).

Pete & Hali in Bengaluru / Bangalore City

Pete areas in Bengaluru are the oldest localities. It existed from the time of Sri Kempe Gowda’s rule. Similarly few localities have ‘Halli” words as a suffix. In the Kannada language ‘Halli’ means Village. Before urbanization, almost all the places which are commonly known as halli were having the status of a village or it was a village. Few of prominent petes

  • Akkipet (rice merchants)
  • Anchepet
  • Balepet (bangle vendors and musical instrument vendors)
  • Chickpet (retail market)
  • Cottonpet (cotton traders)
  • Cubbonpet/Aralepet (textile merchants of Devanga community)
  • Doddapet (wholesale market)
  • Ganigarapet (oil merchants of Ganiga community)
  • Gollarapet (cowherds)
  • Halasurpet
  • Huriopet
  • Kumbarpet (clay/pot traders)
  • Kurubarapet (sheep traders)
  • Mamulpet (general traders)
  • Manavarthpet
  • Muthyalapet (pearl sellers)
  • Nagarathpet (gold/silver traders and textile merchants)
  • Patnoolpet
  • Ragipet (ragi merchants)
  • Ranasinghpet
  • Santhusapet
  • Sultanpet (paper product vendors)
  • Sunnakalpet (limestone traders)
  • Tharagupet (grain traders)
  • Tigalarapet (gardener’s flower vendors)
  • Upparpet (salt traders)

After these came Chamarajapete, then Basavanagudi in South and Malleshwaram in North. Chalavadipalya. Other old localities are Padarayanapura, Rayapuram, Benniganahalli, Hosathippasandra, Konena Agrahara. Bellandur, Doddanekkundi, Garudacharpalya. Hagadooru, Hoodi, Kadugudi, Marathalli, Varthur, Kamakshipalya, Banaswadi, Kacharakanahalli, Kadugondanahalli, Kammanahalli, Nagavara, Agaram, Domlur, Jogupalya, Neelasandra, Jayamahal, Ramaswamy Palya & Ulsoor

List of Villages in Bangalore City (Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike)

  • Abbigere
  • Alahalli
  • Amani Byrathikhane
  • Ambalipura
  • Anantapura
  • Andrahalli
  • Anjanapura
  • Arehalli
  • Balagere
  • Basapura
  • Basavanapura
  • Begur village
  • Belathur
  • Bellahalli
  • Bellandur
  • Bellandur Amanikere
  • Beratena Agrahara
  • Bhoganahalli 
  • Bileshivale
  • Byrathi
  • Chandrashekarapura
  • Channasandra
  • Chelekere
  • Chikkabellandur
  • Chikkabettahalli
  • Chikkasandra 
  • Chikkathoguru
  • Chokkanahalli
  • Dasarahalli 
  • Devarabisanahalli
  • Doddabettahalli
  • Doddabidarakallu
  • Doddakallasandra
  • Doddakannalli
  • Doddathoguru
  • Ganakallu
  • Gidadakonenahalli
  • Gollahalli
  • Gottigere
  • Govindapura
  • Gubbalala
  • Guddadahalli 
  • Gunjur
  • Hagadur, Immadihalli
  • Haralur
  • Harohalli
  • Hemmigepura
  • Herohalli
  • Horamavu
  • Horamavu Agara
  • Hosahalli
  • Hosahalli Gollarapalya
  • Junnasandra
  • K Channasandra
  • Kadugodi Plantation
  • Kadusonnappanahalli
  • Kaikondrahalli
  • Kalena Agrahara 
  • Kalkere 
  • Kammanahalli
  • Karivobanahalli
  • Kariyammana Agrahara
  • Kasavanahalli
  • Kattigenahalli
  • Kembathalli
  • Kenchanahalli
  • Khanekandaya
  • Kothanur
  • Kothnur Narayanapura
  • Kudlu
  • Kumbena Agrahara
  • Kyalasanahalli
  • Lingadheeranahalli
  • Lingadheeranahalli
  • Manchenahalli
  • Myadarahalli
  • Naganathapura
  • Nagareshwara Nagenahalli
  • Nagondanahalli
  • Panathur
  • Parappana Agrahara
  • Pillaganahalli
  • Rachenahalli
  • Raghuvanahalli
  • Ramagondanahalli
  • Shettihall
  • Siddapura
  • Sidedahalli
  • Sompura
  • Sonnenahalli 
  • Sorahunase
  • Srinivaspur 
  • Subramanyapura
  • Talaghattapura 
  • Thanisandra
  • Thippasandra
  • Thirumenahalli
  • Thubarahalli
  • Turahalli
  • Ullal
  • Uttarahalli
  • Uttarahalli Manavarthekaval
  • Vaddarapalya
  • Vajarahalli 
  • Varahasandra
  • Varanasi
  • Varthur
  • Vasanthapura
  • Vasudevapura
  • Yelenahalli

Villages in Bangalore Urban District

Banglore City is part of the Bengaluru Urban district. Bangalore Urban district came into being in 1986, with the partition of the erstwhile Bangalore into Bangalore Urban and Bangalore Rural districts. Bangalore Urban has five taluks

  • Bangalore North (Bengaluru)
  • Bangalore South (Kengeri)
  • Bangalore East (Krishnaraja Pura), 
  • Yelahanka
  • Anekal.

The district has 17 hoblies, 588 villages, and 9 municipal corporations. 

For a Full list of Hoblies & Villages in Five Taluks visit sources:

Sources: &